What we Do: Vision, Mission and Objectives

As the peak body for soil scientists and people interested in soils, Soil Science Australia educates, advocates and advises, at all levels, in the interest of Australian prosperity.

Our Vision

Our vision is that soils are valued and protected by all, so that current and future generations of Australians can thrive.

Our Mission

Our mission is to promote the importance of soil in the Australian environment, build a strong and collaborative soil science community, influence policy development, as well as advance the professional capability of our members. We will achieve this by:

Communicating and advocating for the importance of soil with key stakeholders

Developing and supporting professional standards of practise in soil science

Enhancing expertise and providing professional development services accessible to all

Supporting educational opportunities for young Australians through the development of soil science activities and teaching material for incorporation in the Australian curriculum

Recognising excellence in soil science within our membership base and in the wider community

Providing value to our members and ensuring our long term sustainability.

Please consider helping Soil Science Australia by sponsoring us or donating to our cause.

Statement of Purposes and Rules


Soil Science Australia is incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1991 of the Australian Capital Territory.

The current Statement of Purposes and Rules was revised and agreed at the 2018 Annual General Meeting.

Corporate Governance

Soil Science Australia’s governing body is the Federal Council, consisting of the Executive Committee, the President of each of the seven branches, and the Chair of the Certified Professional Soil Scientist Board.

Executive Committee

Dr Luke Mosley CPSS

University of Adelaide

Vice President
Dr Vanessa Wong CPSS

Monash University

Dr Ashlea Doolette
University of Adelaide

Mr Darren Kidd
Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment

Federal Council

Branch Presidents
New South Wales Dr Uta Stockman
Riverina Mr Sam North
South Australia Mr Ed Scott
Tasmania Mrs Robyn Doyle
Victoria Dr Sam Grover CPSS
Western Australia Mr Henry Smolinski
Queensland Mr Jim Payne
Affiliated Committees
CPSS Board Chair Dr JP Cumming CPSS
Soils in Schools Dr Gillian Kopittke CPSS

CPSS Board

CPSS Board Members
Chair Dr John Paul Cumming CPSS, Ph.D., B.Agr.Sc.(Hons), GAICD
Deputy Chair Ms Lynette Dohle, M.Agr.Sc.(Soil Cons.), B.Agr.Sc.(Hons)
Mr Simon Buchanan CPSS,  M.Phil.(Disturbed Land Rehab.), B.LandRes.Sci.(Hons)
Dr Andrew Biggs CPSS, Ph.D., B.Sc.Agr.(Hons)
Dr Kirsten Barlow CPSS Ph.D., B.Agr.Sc.(Hons), Dip.Bus.(FLM)
Dr John Paul Cumming CPSS, Ph.D., B.Agr.Sc.(Hons), GAICD
CPSS Administrator Dr Cameron Grant CPSS Ph.D., M.Sc., B.Agr.Sc.(Hons)


Strategic Advisory Committee

Associate Professor Luke Mosley CPSS
Associate Professor John McLean Bennett CPSS
Professor Lyn Abbott
Professor Alex McBratney CPSS
Professor Mike McLaughlin CPSS
Professor Neal Menzies CPSS

Equity & Diversity

Soil Science Australia is a vibrant community that reflects the diversity of people, interests and backgrounds around the world. Members include all genders at all career stages, from undergraduate students to eminent retired academics, research scientists, government employees, industry practitioners and consultants.

Soil Science Australia recognises the importance of equity and diversity and aims to:

  1. Proactively engage in practices that encourage diversity and equity.
  2. Promote and connect soil scientists within Soil Science Australia who proactively want to encourage diversity and equity.
  3. Promote soil science as an interesting and diverse career to all, irrespective of age, background and gender.

See our Equity and Diversity Strategy for more information.