Soil Science Australia may honour up to three members each year as new fellows. The honour is conferred for exceptional achievement and distinction in any or all of the following areas related to soils: research, technology, teaching, extension and or/the advancement of soil science. The nominee must be an active financial Ordinary or Honorary Life member of Soil Science Australia.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or the Soil Science Australia website at the beginning of each calendar year. Nominations must be submitted digitally to the Federal Secretary and copied to the Federal Office before the closing date in the year in which the Medal is to be awarded.

The nomination must include:

  • a proposer, a seconder and five supporters, all of whom are financial members of Soil Science Australia
  • a nomination statement up to 1000 words stating why the nominee is worthy of receiving a Fellowship where applicable, up to five of the nominees most significant publications or other works
  • the nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • names of at least three referees who can be contacted to provide a written report as to the standing and reputation of the nominee in the profession of soil science.

Announcement of Fellows

Fellowships are announced by the Federal President or proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council.

Soil Science Australia Fellows

2014 Professor Pichhu Rengasamy SA
2015 Professor Alexander McBratney NSW
2015 Professor Deli Chen VIC
2016 Emeritus Professor Lynette Abbott WA
2016 Professor Steven Raine QLD
2016 Professor Neal Menzies NSW
2017 Professor Michael McLaughlan SA
2017 Professor Balwant Singh NSW
2018 Professor Caixian Tang VIC
2018 Dr Melissa Salt CPSS SA