LJH Teakle Medal

The LJH Teakle Medal is an annual award given to a financial member of Soil Science Australia for outstanding effort in promoting and raising the awareness of soil science through activity with Soil Science Australia and the wider community. Prior to 2017 the LJK Teakle award consisted of a certificate. In 2017 a medal was included in the award.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or the Soil Science Australia website at the beginning of each calendar year. Nominations must be submitted electronically to the Federal Secretary and copied to the Federal Office not later than May 31 in the year in which the Medal is to be awarded. Nominations are to be prepared nominator and a seconder.

Award Presentation

The LJH Teakle medal is presented by the Federal President or proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council.

Award Winners

2010 Rebecca Lines-Kelly
2012 Mark Imhof
2013 Robert Holloway
2014 Bruce Carey
2015 Annie McNeal
2016 John Standley OAM
2017 Richard MacEwan
2018 Cameron Grant CPSS

Laurence John Hartley Teakle (1901 – 1979) was born in Hawker, South Australia and was the first president of the Australian Society of Soil Science from 1956-1957. He completed his tertiary studies in Agricultural Science at the University of Western Australia and began working for the WA Department of Agriculture in 1923. Soon after he headed to the University of California, Berkley where he completed his masters and PhD. He returned to the WA Department of Agriculture for a further 19 years, and in 1946 he was gazetted WA Commissioner of Soil Conservation. In 1947 he became a Professor of Agriculture at the University of Queensland, was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University in 1964. In 1969 he was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Laws.