New SSA Member Forums!

Discuss issues or solve problems related to soils.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

Scientist Travelling Research Award

Soil and Fire support letter

2021 National Soils Conference

Cairns 27 June to 2 July 2021

2020 Save Our Soils 

Welcome to Soil Science Australia

The Australian Society of Soil Science Incorporated, known as Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit, professional association for soil scientists and  people interested in the responsible management of Australia’s soil resources. Soil Science Australia supports soil scientists and promotes the importance of soil as a finite resource. Some members are students, some are at the start of their careers while others are highly regarded experts in Australia and internationally.

Soil Science Australia has seven branches and is governed by an elected Federal Council. Each branch has its own committee responsible for organising local educational, professional development and networking events. Soil Science Australia is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) and contributes to the National Committee on Soil and Terrain (NCST). In 1955, a resolution “that the Australian Society of Soil Science be inaugurated from this meeting” was recorded in Melbourne. The following year the first official meeting of the Society took place in Queensland, with a Federal Executive and presidents from the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australian and Victorian branches forming the Federal Council. In later years the Executive expanded with the addition of the Western Australian branch in 1957, the Riverina branch in 1962 and most recently the Tasmanian branch in 2008.