JA Prescott Medal

The JA Prescott Medal is awarded annually to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to soil science. The JA Prescott recipient receives a medal and a certificate. The Award is open to financial members of Soil Science Australia and other Australian soil scientists.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or Soil Science Australia website at the beginning of each calendar year. Nominations must be submitted electronically to the Federal Secretary and the Federal Office before the closing date in the year in which the Medal is to be awarded.
Nominations are to be prepared nominator and a seconder and supported by three additional financial Members of Soil Science Australia.

Medal Presentation

The JA Prescott medal ispresented by the Federal President or their proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council.

Award Winners

1972 C.G. Stephens 1990 K.G. Tiller 2008 R. Dalal
1973 1991 R. Gilkes 2009 M. McLaughlin
1974 T.J. Marshall 1992 W.W. Emerson 2010 D. Chen
1975 J.P. Quirk 1993 J.N. Ladd 2011
1976 R.G. Downes 1994 R. French 2012 S.E. Smith (Sally)
1977 K. Norrish 1995 G. Aylmore 2013 Jock Churchman
1978 J.K. Taylor 1996 2014 A.J. Baldock
1979 N. Collis-George 1997 K. Northcote 2015 V.V.S.R. Gupta
1980 R. Brewer 1998 R.W. Fitzpatrick 2016  Rai Kookana
1981 B.E. Butler 1999 A. Rovira 2017 Neil McKenzie.
1982 C.H. Williams 2000 M.J. Mulcahy 2018 Dr David McKenzie
1983 G.D. Hubble 2001 B.E. Clothier
1984 C.G. Hallsworth 2002 J.W. Holmes
1985 J.R. Freney 2003 J.M. Oades
1986 K. Lee 2004 A.B. McBratney
1987 M. Raupach 2005
1988 P.H. Walker 2006 R.E. White
1989 O.T. Denmead 2007 P. Rengasamy

James Arthur Prescott (1890 – 1987) was born in England, moving to Australia in 1924 as Professor of Agricultural Chemistry at the University of Adelaide. From 1929 he was Chief of the Division of Soils CSIR, and from 1938 to 1955 he was the Director of the Waite Agricultural Research Institute, South Australia.When Prescott came to Australia he was just beginning to make some impact on the scientific world. Prescott was to further the development of agricultural science in a revolutionary manner that attracted international attention. In 1951 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London for his fundamental pedological researches and his pioneering work in climatology.