Publication Medal

This medal is awarded annually for a publication on any subject in soil research. The award is open to Australian soil scientists and is made on the basis of scientific merit, relevance to soil science and effectiveness in communicating the content. The award is normally for work carried out in Australia and the publication on which the award is based should be published not later than the year of the candidate’s 35th birthday.

Written assurance must be given by any co-authors that the nominee for the Publication Medal has made the major contribution to the research and writing of the paper. Only the senior author of a joint-author publication is eligible to receive the Publication Medal.

The award consists of a medal, certificate and sum of money.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be made on the prescribed application form, available from the Federal Office or the Soil Science Australia website at the beginning of each calendar year. Nominations must be submitted electronically to the Federal Secretary and the Federal Office before the closing date in the year in which the medal is to be awarded.

Applications for the Publication Medal award must be made by a financial member of Soil Science Australia and can be made either by the candidate, or on behalf of the candidate. The nomination may include the names of up to two referees on whom the Publication Medal Committee may call.

If insufficient suitable nominations are received the Publication Medal Committee may initiate a search and consider candidates from which to select a suitable medal recipient.

Award Presentation

The Publication Medal is presented by the Federal President or proxy at each national conference held by Soil Science Australia or at another event determined by the Federal Council.

Award Winners

1979Sidhu2004Ronald Smernik
1980J. Knight2005Bennett Macdonald
1981W.H. Utomo2007Ian Oliver
1982David Chittleborough2009Mohsen Forouzongohar
1983Colin Chartres2010Ashlea Doolette
1984Robert Loch2011Samantha Grover
1986Anand2012Vanessa Wong
1987Hainsworth2013 Raj Setia
1989Neal Menzies2014 Shu Kee Lam (Raymond) 
1991Stuart Boucher2015Daniela Montalvo Grijalva
1993V K Phogat2016Timothy McLaren 
1995H.J. Ni2017Yingcan Zhu
1996Kerry Greenwood2018Mario Fajardo
2001Gary Sheridan  
2002Budiman Minasny  
2003Angus McElnea