South Australia

Welcome to the South Australian branch home page!

Here in SA we have a lively soil science community committed to digging deeper into soils and expanding new horizons. Spread across the state our members work for The University of Adelaide, University of South Australia, Flinders University, PIRSA, SARDI and private enterprise, to name just a few.

Our diverse group meets regularly at informal seminar nights, and a large crowd historically gathers for our Annual Lecture, held in September/October each year. The annual field trip is always an exciting day, drawing people from far and wide.

If you wish to connect with other soil scientists in SA and learn about what is happening on the ground in your state then please join us and become a member of the SA branch. You can email the branch if you require any additional information.

We look forward to seeing you at our next event, all welcome!

Ed Scott
SA Branch President

Meet our Committee


President:  Edward Scott
PH: 0403 313 741

Vice President:  Sean Mason 
PH: 0422 066 635

Treasurer:  Cam Grant
PH:0408 088 953

Secretary:  Austin Trueman
PH: 0409 603 893

Committee members:

John Weber, Brian Hughes, Casey Doolette, James Hall, Mark Thomas, Emily Leyden, Amelie Jeanneau, Geoff Kew

Past Committee Members


State Soil

The South Australian Branch selected a Calcarosol as the State soil. Calcarosols are calcareous sandy loams that are well drained, alkaline, moderately fertile and reasonably deep. They occur throughout SA and are used widely for cereal growing, pasture and irrigated horticulture, particularly vineyards.


News and Events

Branch news and events

Awards and Sponsorship

Branch awards and sponsorship