7th Australian Soil Judging Competition

Thursday 3 October to Sunday 6 October 2019

Adelaide SA, Australia




Soil Science Australia

7th Australian Soil Judging Competition 
3 to 6 October 2019 
Strathalbyn, South Australia

Put these dates in your diary now and start training immediately because the competition is fierce and the University of Sydney is the team to beat (they have won every competition since they started in 2012)!


Students enrolled in an Australian or New Zealand university, TAFE or registered training organisation are welcome to submit a team.

If you are not currently studying but you can assemble (and train) a team, please contact soiljudge@soilscienceaustralia.org.au


What happens at a Soil Judging Competition?

Students spend the first two days training under the expert eye of a team coach and honing their skills “in the field”. This is particularly important for those who have little practical experience in soil science.

The competition then puts that training into action. Students compete to correctly identify soil features, classify soil profiles and interpret soil capability at several different sites.

The student analysis is then benchmarked against the same analysis undertaken by a panel of professional soil scientist. The student team with highest score which is closest to professional’s analysis is declared the overall winner. All teams receive feedback and the opportunity to develop their understanding further following the results.

Teams consist of up to four students (both undergraduate and postgraduate students are permitted) plus a coach / supervisor.


Registration for each team costs $200.


Welcome BBQ on Thursday 3 October
DAY ONE Friday 4 October
Training/practice to become familiar SA soils from 8am
Networking/study time/down time from 6pm
DAY TWO Saturday 5 October
Training/practice to become familiar SA soils from 8am
Networking/study time/down time from 6pm
DAY THREE Sunday 6 October
Competition day (teams & individuals) from 8am
Competition awards/networking event from 6pm

Location & Welcome BBQ

The competition will be based in Strathalbyn with training and competition pits located on the Fleurieu Peninsula between Murray Bridge, Second Valley (all south of Adelaide).

The welcome BBQ will be held on Thursday 3 October in Strathalbyn.


Suggested travel time into Adelaide is early afternoon on Thursday 3 October to allow you to reach your accommodation before the competition starts.

Buses will depart from Strathalbyn each morning to transport participants to the different training and competition sites.

The competition concludes on the evening of Sunday 6 October so travel can be booked from Monday 7 October.


There is a variety of accommodation options in Strathalbyn and surrounding towns including Mount Barker, Goolwa, Port Elliot, Middleton, Milang. All are within 30 minutes of the competition base in Strathalbyn.

There are 35 dormitory style rooms available at Glenbarr Conference and Camp Centre in Strathalbyn ($38 per night). Register your interest via the booking form.

There may also be billeting/homestay available with South Australian SSA members and their families. Register your interest via the booking form.

Please note the Strathalbyn Agricultural Show is on 7 October, so accommodation may be hard to find unless you book early.

Contact the Event Co-ordinators

Event email: soiljudge@soilscienceaustralia.org.au

Mr Ed Scott (President, Soil Science Australia, SA Branch): sa.president@soilscienceaustralia.org.au
Dr Cam Grant (Treasurer, Soil Science Australia, SA Branch): cpssadmin@soilscienceaustralia.org.au

Follow us on Facebook

Organising Committee

Dr Cameron Grant CPSS
Mr Ed Scott
Mr Brian Hughes
Mr James Hall
Dr Geoff Kew CPSS
Ms Erinne Stirling
Dr Rebecca Tonkin CPSS

Thank you

Proudly supported by the South Australian Grain Industry Trust.

Adelaide SA, Australia

Thursday 3 October to Sunday 6 October 2019

All day