Soil Science Australia may honour up to three members each year as new fellows. The honour is conferred for exceptional achievement and distinction in any or all of the following areas related to soils: research, technology, teaching, extension and or/the advancement of soil science. The nominee must be an active financial Ordinary or Honorary Life member of Soil Science Australia.

Nomination Process

Nominations must be submitted via email.

The nomination must include:

  • a proposer, a seconder and five supporters, all of whom are financial members of Soil Science Australia
  • a nomination statement up to 1000 words stating why the nominee is worthy of receiving a Fellowship where applicable, up to five of the nominees most significant publications or other works
  • the nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • names of at least three referees who can be contacted to provide a written report as to the standing and reputation of the nominee in the profession of soil science.

Announcement of Fellows

Fellowships are announced by the Federal President or proxy at each Soil Science Australia national conference or another event determined by the Federal Council.

Soil Science Australia Fellows

2019 Professor Robert Fitzpatrick CPSS SA
2019 Professor Leigh Sullivan CPSS ACT
2019 Associate Professor Damien Field CPSS NSW
2018 Dr Melissa Salt CPSS SA
2018 Professor Caixian Tang VIC
2017 Professor Michael McLaughlan SA
2017 Professor Balwant Singh NSW
2016 Emeritus Professor Lynette Abbott WA
2016 The Late Professor Steven Raine QLD
2016 Professor Neal Menzies NSW
2015 Professor Alexander McBratney NSW
2015 Professor Deli Chen VIC
2014 Professor Pichhu Rengasamy SA

Soil Science Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land and we pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future.