Soil Science Australia – Who We Are

The Australian Society of Soil Science Incorporated, known as Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit, professional association for soil scientists and people interested in the responsible management of Australia’s soil resources. Soil Science Australia supports soil scientists and promotes the importance of soil as a finite resource. Some members are students, some are at the start of their careers while others are highly regarded experts in Australia and internationally. We have seven branches and are governed by an elected Federal Council. Each branch has its own committee responsible for organising local educational, professional development and networking events. Soil Science Australia is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) and contributes to the National Committee on Soil and Terrain (NCST).

Soil Science Australia’s governing body is the Federal Council, consisting of the Executive Committee, the President of each of the seven branches, and the Chair of the Certified Professional Soil Scientist Board.

Executive Committee

Soil Science Australia is incorporated under the Associations Incorporation Act 1991 of the Australian Capital Territory.  The current Statement of Purposes and Rules was revised and agreed at the 2021 Annual General Meeting.

Associate Professor Vanessa Wong CPSS

Vice President
Edward Scott CPSS

Isaac Kelder CPSS

Executive Officer
Michael Walker FIML FGIA MAICD

Click here for list of past Federal Office Bearers since 1956.

2022 Federal Council

Branch Presidents
New South Wales Dr Katharine Brown CPSS
Riverina Dr Jason Condon
South Australia Ms Emily Leyden
Tasmania Mr Sam Rees
Victoria Dr Samantha Grover CPSS
Western Australia Mr Henry Smolinski
Queensland Mrs Kristie Williams
Affiliated Committees
CPSS Board Chair Dr Leigh Sullivan CPSS
Soils in Schools Mr Michael Walker EO FIML FGIA MAICD
Training Board Chair Mr Bernie Powell CPSS-AusSS
Calendar Committee Dr Aaditi Dang
Training Board
Board Chair Mr Bernie Powell CPSS-AusSS
Assoc Prof Vanessa Wong CPSS
Prof John McLean Bennett CPSS
Assoc Prof Lisa Lobry de Bruyn CPSS
Dr Bahwana Bhatta



2022 CPSS Board

CPSS Board Members
Chair Dr Leigh Sullivan CPSS
Deputy Chair Dr Kylie Bradley CPSS
Dr Pam Hazelton CPSS
Dr Richard Bell CPSS
Dr Evan Thomas CPSS
Ms Helena Woolums
CPSS Officer Dr Katharine Brown CPSS

SSA is growing!

Thank you for your patience while we are building our new site. If you need more current information, please contact us