JK Taylor OBE Medal

Allan Hewitt, Megan Balks & David Lowe

2022 JK Taylor OBE Medal winners

The JK Taylor OBE Gold Medal in Soil Science is awarded for excellence in both research and the reporting of that research by publication. The award recognises the most meritorious research publication(s) in any form including papers, books, maps, videos, films, and other forms acceptable to the Taylor Medal Committee. The award winner receives a medal and certificate.


The award is open to soil scientists who have worked in Australia and New Zealand. Eligible research publications are normally those published in any format from January onwards in the year following the previous award of a JK Taylor Medal. The research communication subject must deal with soil research related to Australian and/or New Zealand soils and must reflect the results of a soil scientist’s own work in the field of soil science.

Only the senior author of a joint publication is eligible to receive the award. In the case of a publication by two authors where it can be demonstrated that the work was cooperatively and equally shared, the JK Taylor Medal award may be shared and two medals presented. Multi-author papers will be considered on their merits.

Nomination Process and Instructions

Nominations must be submitted via email before the closing date in the year in which the Medal is to be awarded.

The Medal shall be awarded for the most meritorious research publication(s) in any form (eg paper(s), book(s), map(s), video(s), film(s) and other) acceptable to the Committee since the beginning of the year of the previous award on the basis of the results of a sol scientist’s own work in the field of soil science.

All Australian and New Zealand soil scientists and any other sol scientist who is working or has worked in Australia or New Zealand shall be eligible for consideration if they are members of the Society.

In the case of a joint publication where the work was cooperatively and equally shared the Award may be shared.

Nominations are confidential to the Awarding Committee.

Nominations are to be prepared by a nominator and a seconder and supported by three additional financial members of Soil Science Australia. The nomination may include the names of up to two referees on whom the Taylor Medal Committee may call.

Award Presentation

The award is made every two years, in the year of the Soils Science Australia national conference, including the joint Australian and New Zealand national conference.

Award Winners

2022Allan Hewitt, Megan Balks & David Lowe
2020Vinod Phogat
2018Peter Kopittke
2016Gordon (Jock) Churchman
2014J. Tisdalll and M. Oades
2010R.E. White
2008A. McBratney and B. Minasny
2006S.E. (Sally) Smith
1998O.T. Denmead
1996P.M.Chalk and C.J. Smith
1992L.F. Molloy
1988N.J. Barrow
1984R.J. Coventry


The JK Taylor Medal results from a gift of money in 1983 from the Taylor family to commemorate the life and work of John Kingsley Taylor, OBE.