LJH Teakle Medal

The LJH Teakle Medal is an annual award given to a financial member of Soil Science Australia for outstanding effort in promoting and raising the awareness of soil science through activity with Soil Science Australia and the wider community. Prior to 2017 the LJK Teakle award consisted of a certificate. In 2017 a medal was included in the award.

Nomination Process and Instructions

Nominations are to be prepared by a nominator AND seconder then submitted to the Federal Secretary via email.

  • The award will be given for outstanding effort in promoting and raising the awareness of soil science in Australia via activity with the Australian Society of Soil Science Inc and the wider community.
  • Candidates must be financial members of the Soil Science Australia.

Nomination of a candidate for the award requires a nominator, seconder and must be signed by the president of the nominee’s Branch of Soil Science Australia.

Nominations are confidential to the Awarding Committee.

Award Presentation

The LJH Teakle medal is presented by the Federal President or proxy at a Soil Science Australia national conference or at another event determined by the Federal Council.

Award Winners

2020 Bill Cotching
2019 Gillian Kopittke
2018 Cameron Grant
2017 Richard MacEwan
2016 John Standley OAM
2015 Annie McNeal
2014 Bruce Carey
2013 Robert Holloway
2012 Mark Imhof
2011 not awarded
2010 Rebecca Lines-Kelly
Laurence John Hartley Teakle (1901 – 1979) was born in Hawker, South Australia and was the first president of the Australian Society of Soil Science from 1956-1957. He completed his tertiary studies in Agricultural Science at the University of Western Australia and began working for the WA Department of Agriculture in 1923. Soon after he headed to the University of California, Berkley where he completed his masters and PhD. He returned to the WA Department of Agriculture for a further 19 years, and in 1946 he was gazetted WA Commissioner of Soil Conservation. In 1947 he became a Professor of Agriculture at the University of Queensland, was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University in 1964. In 1969 he was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Laws.

Soil Science Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land and we pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future.