The National Soil Science Awards recognise and celebrate excellence and contribution to soil science. Soil scientists across Australia are invited to review the award categories and submit their nominations.

Do you know a soil scientist that deserves to be recognised for their contribution to soil science?

Key Dates

Award nominations open May 1st.

Award nominations close August 1st

Award winners will be announced on November 7th at the SSA AGM.

Award categories and nominations

Soil Science Australia encourages and recognises excellence in soil science through a variety of awards, grants and membership recognition.  We have a number of awards that recognise the distinguished contribution of members. Key awards include:

Please note: The JK Taylor Medal is awarded every second year and will next be awarded in 2024.

Please read the award information, eligibility and nomination details for each award.

For students and early career members

Students and early-career scientist and researchers can apply through their branch for grants to participate in the National Soil Judging Competition and to attend the National Soil Science Australia Conference. To be eligible you must be a current financial member of Soil Science Australia. 

How do I apply?

To apply for one of the Soil Science Australia awards please download the Awards Nomination Form and send it to [email protected] AND [email protected].