The Australian Society of Soil Science Incorporated, known as Soil Science Australia is a not-for-profit, professional association for soil scientists and people interested in the responsible management of Australia’s soil resources.

Soil Science Australia supports soil scientists and promotes the importance of soil as a finite resource. Some members are students, some are at the start of the careers while others are highly regarded experts in Australia and internationally.

Soil Science Australia has seven branches and is governed by an elected Federal Council. Each branch has its own committee responsible organising local educational, professional development and networking events.

Soil Science Australia is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS) and contributes to the National Committee on Soil and Terrain (NCST).

Executive Committee


Dr John Bennett CPSS
University of Southern Queensland
0438 683 426

Vice President

Vice President
Dr Luke Mosley, CPSS
University of Adelaide
0428 103 563


Dr Ashley Doolette
University of Adelaide


Dan Brough
Queensland Dept Environment and Resource Management

Federal Council

Branch Presidents
New South WalesDr Uta Stockmann
RiverinaSam North
South AustraliaJames Hall
TasmaniaRobyn Doyle
VictoriaDr Vanessa Wong CPSS
Western AustraliaChris Gazey
QueenslandDr Silvana Santomartino CPSS
Affiliated Committees
CPSS Board ChairDr Kirsten Barlow CPSS
Soils in SchoolsDr Gillian Kopittke CPSS


CPSS Accreditation

Soil Science Australia provides accreditation for suitably qualified members as Certified Professional Soil Scientists (CPSS).


Our Patron

Our patron is Dr Penny Wensley AC.



Soil Science Australia is a member of the International Union of Soil Sciences.

Please consider helping Soil Science Australia by sponsoring us or donating to our cause.

Join now as a Soil Science Member