Honorary Life Members

Honorary Life Membership may be given to retired members of Soil Science Australia who have given eminent service to Soil Science Australia and/or the soil science profession.

Nomination Process

Nominees must have had at least 15 years membership of Soil Science Australia and have given:

  • significant service to Soil Science Australia such as through committee membership, service as an office bearer, contribution to the organisation of conferences, field days and the operation of branches, and/or
  • eminent service to the profession of soil science.

No more than 25 people may be Honorary Life Members at any time and no more than four people will be awarded Honorary Life Membership in a calendar year.

Nominations are to be prepared by a nominator and a seconder and submitted via email.


Honorary Life Members will normally be announced by the Federal President or proxy at each Soil Science Australia national conference or another event determined by the Federal Council.

Honorary Life Members

Mr Richard MacEwan VIC
Mr Noel Schoknecht WA
Mr Dennis Baker CPSS QLD
Dr Graham Aylmore WA
Dr Robin Bruce QLD
Mr Peter Charman NSW
Mr Max Churchward (Dec) WA
Professor Robert Gilkes WA
Mr Bernard Powell CPSS QLD
Professor Jim Quirk (Dec) WA
Emeritus Professor Calvin Rose QLD
Mr Jim Rowan VIC
Dr John Standley OAM QLD
Dr Nicholas Uren VIC
Dr Robert van de Graaff CPSS VIC
Dr Pat Walker (Dec) NSW
Dr Stan Waring QLD
Emeritus Professor Robert White CPSS VIC
Dr Cameron Grant CPSS SA

Soil Science Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land and we pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future.